Passion Fruit Cheesecake

Passion Fruit Cheesecake - Homemake Cakes and Desserts Blog
Passion Fruit Cheesecake - Homemake Cakes and Desserts Blog
24 Oct 2009
 
Mom and I will visit my aunt back from San Francisco.  I adapted a recipe of passion fruit cheesecake.    It’s hard to find fresh passion fruit in Hong Kong.  So, I used puree.    The recipe was for a 16-cm cake with a height of 6cm.  To make a 20cm cake, I took 20% more cheese and passionfruit puree but reduced sugar.  The puree is like juice.  So, I added corn flour in attempt to solidify the cake.  It turned out to be fantastic.  When the cake is cut, the orange gaze spilled over to the sides of the cut piece.  It’s so appealing and temptative.  The cake is tangy, soft and not heavy.   Wow, a heavenly taste together with  coffee.  It cheers up the day.
 
Here is the adapted recipe for a 8-inch (20cm)cake:
 
Crust: 
140g biscuits     60g butter
 
Filling:
700g cream cheese
240g passion fruit puree
80g sugar      2 eggs (1 large & a medium)    zest of 1 lemon
zest of 1 orange    juice of 1/2 lemon
17g corn starch
 
Glaze:
Juice of 1 orange     2 tablespoons sugar
 
 
Passion Fruit Cheesecake 1 - Homemade Cakes and Desserts Blog
Passion Fruit Cheesecake 1 - Homemade Cakes and Desserts Blog
5 thoughts on “Passion Fruit Cheesecake

  1. Hi again. Your cheesecake looks yummy-licious. I wish I can taste it now 😦 I must admit I am into food pairing. This is an unusual pairing to me-passion fruit and cheese. Cheese -tart and a lil sourish, while passion fruit-the last time i had it it was sour. I’m curious, does this cheesecake end up a on the sour side? 🙂 Btw, I am keeping this recipe. I might try it some day 🙂

    1. I like the combination of sour and cheese. Cheese can be quite stuffy. The sourness of passionfruit strikes a balance with cheese. You may add more sugar. I normally cut the portion of sugar significantly so that I won’t expand like a balloon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

