Earl Grey Tea Cup Cake with Orange Zest / Chocolate

 

Earl Grey Cup Cake

I woke up shortly after 5am.   The push to experiment earl grey tea cake alerted me.    This is a contribution to Connie.  Many recipes over the internet have got chocolate.    But I did not think Connie would like a rich one.    So, I started with a simple and humble cup cake which was adapted from a blog found last night.   Earl grey has a superb flavour of Bergamot.   Citrus zest should be a good complement.     It also adds a nice touch to the appearance of the cake.   How well does the chocolate go with earl grey?     Let’s add a tiny portion so that the cake will not be overwhelmed with the chocolate.

I measured all ingredients, let the eggs and butter cool to room temperature.   It took some time.    Silicon cup cake moulds had been sitting idle for months.   Hu hu, I finally used them.    14 can be held.  I filled them quite full as I had no extra cases.   The cakes rose high.    The bottoms were trimmed for shooting.    Well, I need to buy more cup cake cases.   

I could not wait further but tried the cut away pieces.  It’s good.   Stronger flavour with earl grey would be nicer.   The recipe below has got 1.5 times of tea leaves of my experiment.    Versions with orange zest  and chocolate were nice.    One is fragrant and the other blissful.   My mum took 3 big ones to friends to be enjoyed during their mahjong game.    I took a few for friends.   My other friend, Kurt, likes earl grey.  One day, he will try my fresh bake, I hope.

Preheat oven to 175°C

Earl grey cake ingredients

120g unsalted butter
200g sugar
2 eggs
360g self-raising flour
120ml milk
1.5 tablespoon Earl Grey tea (or 1 tea bag)
Zest of 1 orange
30g chocolate

Grind the tea leaves. Boil it with milk and let cool.

Melt the chocolate over hot water.

Beat butter until creamy.   Add in sugar and beat until the mixture is light and fluffy.

Add one egg at each time and beat until just combined.

Add half the flour to the mixture and blend till just combined.   Blend in the milk with tea powder.   Fold in the rest of the flour.

Scatter orange zest onto the bottom of half of the cup cake moulds.   Pour half of the mixture to the cup cake mould until it’s 2/3 full.

Pour the rest of the mixture and melted chocolate alternately onto the other cake moulds.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes. Let cool and serve. 

One thought on “Earl Grey Tea Cup Cake with Orange Zest / Chocolate

Leave a Reply

