Rosemary and Lemon Roast Chicken

lemon rosemary roast chicken

It’s weekend again!   Western families often have Sunday roast but this is a Saturday roast.  It has been some time that I wish to try out roast chicken baked at low temperature.  I don’t eat rough chicken meat.  So,  I hardly order chicken breast, especially in restaurants in Europe.   And I won’t share friends’ dishes of chicken breast.

The chicken was first marinated with lemon zest, rosemary, a bit salt, black pepper and melted butter.   Then I cooked 3 medium size potatoes, peeled the skin, cut into pieces and dipped them into the chicken marinade.  The chicken cavity was stuffed with a sprig of rosemary, half of a lemon and onion.   potatoes, rest of onion and lemon ridges were laid surrounding the chicken.   It was baked under 200°C for 10 minutes, then down to 150°C for around 50 minutes.   After a 10-minute cooling , it’s time to prove if it worked.  Oh yeah, the chicken was tender, delicate and juicy.  Even the breast was good.   I could eat it too.    A bit more salt would make it perfect.  The onion was crunchy and pungent.  Both the chicken and potatoes had a subtle lemony favour.   My mum liked the tenderness and requested me to roast it for festival family dinner.  Well, Chinese normally eat steamed chicken, at least my family with traditional taste.  So, the experiment declared successful!

One thought on “Rosemary and Lemon Roast Chicken

  1. Hey Meyan,

    When I read you post, it seemd that I can smell the rosemary! Hahahah… Nice trial and I will follow your recipe and cook one for my sister for the Mother’s Day. I am sure she and all my nieces will love it.
    Thanks for the love of cooking that brings the family together. yeah~

    Cheers,

    Loretta

Leave a Reply

