Green Tea Bread Pudding

I like trial of new stuff.   Many people have concerns of making use of old bread.   I normally put them in the freezer if I know I can’t finish all in a short time.  When I need it, I just put them in the oven at 180C for around 10 minutes.   Or I put stale bread in meat balls mixed with herbs and Parmesan cheese.  They are delicious but it’s monotonous.  Wanna something new and special.

Bread pudding!  Most of the recipes say white bread pairing up with milk, eggs and butter. Hmm, I got green tea red current rolls in the freezer.  To give it a spike, I tried lemon zest. 

The whole idea is to soak lemon zest in boiling milk.  Let it sit for a while and then filter away the zest. 

Beat eggs and vanilla essence.  Pour in the lemon scented milk. 

Break bread into pieces and lay them in a cake pan or glass container.  Then pour in the egg mixture.  Let the mixture soak into the bread for half hour. 

Bake at 180C for 30 to 40 minutes (16 cm cake pan).  When a testing pin comes out clean, it’s done.  Let it cool for 10 minutes.  That’s it!  It’s lemony and superb.

Leave a Reply

