Orange Chocolate Muffins

I wanted to make muffins and randomly saw the appealing photos of orange muffins from Pretty.Simply.Sweet.   And, I planned to make them one day.  A Retreat was planned by Breakthrough today.  We had to gather at 8.50 to take a shuttle bus to the Youth Village in Ma On Shan.  I promised my church friends to serve them muffins.  My alarm clock was set at 6.45am but I woke up at 4am, tried heard but could not fall in sleep again. Well, I left my warm bed to start the preparation. Result: I was very tired and sleepy.   I delivered the muffins, went up to the Youth Village and stayed for 2.5 hours.  My eyes were too heavy to stay open and my mind was not clear.  Felt sad.

180g sugar
1 tablespoon orange zest
375g cake flour, sifted
3.75 teaspoons baking powder
Pinch of salt
4 medium eggs
108g unsalted butter, melted and cooled
90g sour cream
90g whole milk
180ml freshly squeezed orange juice
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180C.

Toss together sugar and orange zest.

Mix flour, baking powder and salt.

In another bowl, whisk eggs with melted butter, sour cream, milk, orange juice, and vanilla extract until well combined.

Fold the dry ingredients into the egg mixture until combined. Do not over mix. Fold in chocolate chips.

Divide batter evenly between muffin cups (almost all the way to the top). Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean. Allow to cool for 10 minutes, then remove muffins from the tin and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

