New York Cheesecake without Sour Cream

It has been a long while that I haven’t posted anything. Well, busy 🙂 And no occasion to bake. Today is the third day of Chinese New Year. My brother’s friends come over to dinner, celebrate and play games together. So, there comes this easy New York Cheesecake without sour cream. What are the ingredients then? Yoghurt, cornstarch, lemon juice, cream, etc.

Yesterday, I bumped into Kathy. She mentioned missing my cake posts and liked my presentation. Another reason to post :) This cake is from chef Chu and easy to make. His recipe calls for a cake pan of 13cm, bake at 180°C for 30-35 minutes. I doubled the ingredients to make a 18cm cake. 180°C for the first 10 minutes and lowered to 170°C. I had a look at 38 minutes. The surface was a bit pale and I turned the temperature to 180°C for the rest of baking time and added 3 more minutes. The centre was wobbled and melting in mouth. Perhaps, I don’t need to add the extra 3 minutes to make a bigger cake centre which is liked molten cheese.





100g digestive biscuits, crushed
50g butter, melted
400g cream cheese
28g Butter
120g sugar
180g Whole egg, slightly whisked
140g whipped cream
30g Natural yoghurt
20g Corn flour
10g lemon juice

Preheat the oven at 180°C.

Remove the cream cheese, butter and eggs from the fridge and leave them out for a while.

Mix the crushed digestive biscuits and melted butter. Fill it to the bottom of the cake pan and press flat.

Wrap the cake pan inner circumference with baking paper or brush butter to the pan side.

Beat the softened cheese, butter and sugar until smooth.

Add the slightly whisked egg little by little to the cheese mixture until well blended.

Add the yoghurt, cream, lemon juice, sieved corn starch and vanilla essence to the mixture. Blend with low speed.

Pour the mixture to the cake pan through a sieve.

Bake at 180°C for the first 10 minutes. Lower to 170°C for the rest of 30 minutes.

One thought on “New York Cheesecake without Sour Cream

  1. It’s so funny that I found your blog right after you started posting again. I was looking for a website to tell me whether coconut and red dates make a good flavor combination, and I found your niangao! Then, I decided to look at other recipes and here I see you’ve posted another recipe in time for this new year. What a fun coincidence. I look forward to trying some of the things on your website.

Leave a comment